When you invite team members or colleagues to your account, you can control who sees what by assigning them a user role.

*Note: Everyone has access to the Standard roles, but only the Plus, Premium and Academic Premium plans can customize the user roles.


In the Roles & Permissions section, you can see the user roles that define the level of access to the account.

  • Go to you Settings in the bottom left corner of your screen
  • Click Roles & Permissions

You get an overview of the roles that already exist in your account and their description.

Account Owner

The Account Owner has full access to the account and is able to upgrade/cancel the account. There can only be one Account Owner.

Super admin

Users with Super Admin role have full access to the account across all locations.
They have the following permissions:

  • Managing equipment: The Super Admin can create / update / expire equipment. They are also allowed to change item flags or locations and give and take items in custody.
  • Managing contacts and users: The Super Admin is able to invite other users to the account, and edit the role of other users.
  • Managing reservations and check-outs: The Super Admin can create / update / fulfil reservations and check-outs, even those created by other users of the software. They can also clear booking Labels and ignore booking conflicts.
  • Managing settings: The Super Admin has full access to the settings of the account.

Front Desk Agent

User with the Front Desk Agent role can create and fulfil bookings for anyone (at all or some locations, depending on whether they have been restricted to certain locations).

  • Have an overview of equipment: The Front Desk Agent can see the equipment, but cannot create / update / expire equipment. They are allowed to flag and unflag items and to give and take custody but are not allowed to change locations. 
  • Managing contacts: Front Desk Agents can update / archive contacts to whom equipment can be booked or checked out, but they cannot create contacts.
  • Managing reservations and check-outs: The Front Desk Agent can create / update / fulfil reservations and check-outs, even those created by other users of the software. They can also clear booking Labels but they cannot ignore conflicts.
  • Cannot manage settings or users: The Front Desk Agent cannot change Account Settings, nor invite or update other users of the account.

Equipment Admin

Users with the Equipment Admin role have full access to the equipment (at all or some locations, depending on whether they have been restricted to certain locations).

  • Managing equipment: The Equipment Admin can create / update / expire equipment. They are also allowed to change item flags or locations and give and take items in custody.
  • Managing contacts: Equipment Admins can update / archive contacts to whom equipment can be booked or checked out, but they cannot create contacts.
  • Cannot create or manage reservations and check-outs: The Equipment Admin is solely responsible for the equipment and cannot create any reservations or check-outs.
  • Cannot manage settings or users: The Equipment Admin cannot change Account Settings, nor invite or update other users of the account.

Self-service

Self-service users can book equipment (at all or some locations, depending on whether they have been restricted to certain locations).

  • Have an overview of equipment: The self-service user can see the equipment, but cannot create / update / expire equipment. They are also not allowed to flag and unflag items, change locations, nor to give and take custody.
  • Cannot manage contacts: The self-service user can only see his own contact page.
  • Creating reservations and check-outs for themselves: The self-service users can make a booking for themselves.
  • Cannot manage settings or users: The equipment viewer cannot change Account Settings, nor invite or update other users of the account.

Equipment Viewer

Users with the Equipment Viewer role can view equipment but cannot book anything. This role is ideal for e.g. freelancers needing to see the inventory.

  • Have an overview of equipment: The Equipment Viewer can see the equipment, but cannot create / update / expire equipment. They are also not allowed to flag and unflag items, change locations, nor to give and take custody.
  • Cannot manage contacts: The Equipment Viewer can only see his own contact page.
  • Cannot create reservations and check-outs: The Equipment Viewer can only browse the equipment but is not allowed to make any bookings.
  • Cannot manage settings or users: The Equipment Viewer cannot change Account Settings, nor invite or update other users of the account.

Custom role

If you are subscribed to a Plus, Premium or Academic Premium plan, you are able to create custom roles.

Related articles

Did this answer your question?