This is one of the most powerful features of Cheqroom. It allows you to control which items are accessible to which users, so you never have to verify reservations or check-outs again.
In this article, we briefly explain the concept of how it works.
How does Equipment access work?
Equipment Access groups users and grants them access to specific items based on item attributes. Use Equipment Access to prevent users from adding costly or delicate equipment to their Reservations and Check-outs.
Equipment Access helps you to:
Create clarity on what items can be used in Reservations and Check-outs.
Protect expensive, delicate, fragile, or advanced equipment.
Eliminate the burn of manually verifying Reservations and Check-outs.
Optimize planning by eliminating faulty reservations.
To assign Equipment access, you need to:
Create user groups
Enable Equipment Access
Create and assign item groups
Assign user groups to users
Ready to set up Equipment Access? Check the article Setting up Equipment Access.
🤔 Were you using Booking Permissions before?
Previously, custom roles were used to assign booking permissions. With the new Equipment Access updates, user roles' booking permissions have been disabled and replaced with user groups.
Each role that previously had "booking permissions" enabled now has a corresponding user group, which will be assigned to every user who had a role with booking permissions assigned.
The user groups have the same name as the custom roles. We strongly recommend that you change the names of these groups. Admins can always change the name of the groups to their liking. For more information, please refer to our documentation.
How does it look for your user?
After configuring Equipment Access, users that belong to User groups can only reserve or check out items to which they have access. The user will see which items are restricted on the item page, and even though they can see the information about the item, they cannot book it.
When creating a reservation or check-out, users with an assigned user group will only see non-restricted items by default. Users can view restricted items, which are clearly marked as such. Depending on the permissions granted, users may be able to add those restricted items to reservations.
Ready to set up Equipment access?
Now that you know more about it, it's time to configure Equipment Access. The following help articles will get you up and running!